One of the things you need to think about when choosing an offer, isn't just the payout, but also the conversion rate.
Sure, the Clickbank product you're promoting could pay $48.50. But someone needs to buy that for you to get paid.
Instead, a simple lead generation offer could pay you $10. All someone has to do is complete a form.
(When I say lead gen, I'm referring to high-end CPA [cost per action] offers that don't require buying anything)
This is an illustrative example to explain better...
Affiliate Commission = $48.50
Visitor Conversion Rate = 0.3%
High-End Lead Gen Offer
Affiliate Commission = $10
Visitor Conversion Rate = 3%
Based on the example numbers above...
1,000 visitors to your website promoting a Clickbank product will give you $145.50 commission.
1,000 visitors to your website promoting the high-end lead gen offer will give you $300 commission.
See what I'm saying?
People get caught up with needing to find the right search volume, and competition level. Often because the offers they're promoting, require a lot of traffic to make decent money.
But what if you could make $1,000/month from only 100 visitors per day.
How much easier would it be to do?
You don't need to target big competitive keywords or spend a fortune on link building. You could rank for low competition, low search volume keywords, you don't need much volume to make good money.
And if you have the budget to go for the more competitive keywords... imagine what 1,000 visitors per day could do. Based on the above illustrated numbers, that would be $300/day.
I made these numbers up to make a point, I've never actually done Clickbank promotion.
(With lead gen though, you can definitely make $300 or more from 1,000 visitors to your website)
The point is.. when choosing an offer and evaluating search volumes and competition, remember to think about the conversion. You sure as hell don't need as many visitors to promote a lead gen, as you do to sell a product.
This is personally how I build my sites, and why I stay away from Amazon, Clickbank, etc. While you can make great money from these affiliate programs...
I much prefer an offer where 100 visitors per day to my website, can make 4 figures commission per month.
Which approach do you think is better? Am I being stupid for disregarding product based affiliate offers?